Mercedes Ruehl Biography

Mercedes Ruehl photo

Born: May 16, 1948


Date of Birth: May 16, 1948

Born in Queen's, New York, of both Irish and Cuban descent, Ruehl is the daughter of a much-traveled FBI agent who finally settled in Silver Spring, Maryland.

After attending Catholic College, Ruehl began her career in regional theatre, taking odd jobs during the many dry spells between engagements.

Some of the plays she performed in include: Medea, Much Ado About Nothing, The Three Sisters, Private Lives and June Moon.

Ruehl finally hit it big with stage productions of I'm Not Rappaport, The Wedding of Betty and Boo (for which she won an Obie) and Lost in Yonkers (for which she won a Tony).

In 1988, moviegoers sat up and took notice of the blowsy, foulmouthed, gun-wielding wife of a Mafia boss in Married to the Mob (1988), then wondered where she came from.

In fact, by that time the actress had already appeared in several movies including The Warriors, The Secret of My Succe$s and Big.

Ruehl worked steadily for the next few years in relative anonymity before winning an Oscar as Best Supporting Actress for The Fisher King (1992). Following the film she once again fell into obscurity, poking her head into the limelight with films like Last Action Hero, Lost in Yonkers, What's Cooking? and The Amati Girls.

She has also had limited success on television with roles in MOWs such as Gia, Subway Stories and The Lost Child, with a recurring role on the series, Frasier and guest appearances on The Cosby Show, Kate & Allie and Our Family Honor.


The Amati Girls (2001)
More Dogs Than Bones (2001)
What's Cooking? (2000)
Spooky House (1999)
Out of the Cold (1999)
The Minus Man (1999)
Roseanna's Grave (1997)
Lost in Yonkers (1993)
Last Action Hero (1993)
Another You (1991)
The Fisher King (1991)
Crazy People (1990)
Slaves of New York (1989)
Married to the Mob (1988)
Big (1988)
Leader of the Band (1987)
Radio Days (1987)
The Secret of My Succe$s (1987)
84 Charing Cross Road (1986)
Heartburn (1986)
Twisted (1986)
Four Friends (1981)
The Warriors (1979)

Change Location