Melissa Leo Biography

Melissa Leo photo

Born: September 14, 1960


Date of Birth: September 14, 1960

Melissa Chessington Leo, aka Margaret May II or Margaret May is an Academy Award-nominated actress best known for playing the tough-minded Detective Sgt. Kay Howard on the award-winning TV series Homicide: Life on the Street from 1993 to 1997. She has also been a regular on All My Children and The Young Riders.

Feature films she has appeared in include A Time of Destiny (1988), Last Summer in the Hamptons (1995), 21 Grams (2003) and The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada (2005). In 2009, she was nominated for the Best Actress Oscar for her performance in Frozen River (2008). She won a Golden Globe and the Oscar for Best Supporting actress in 2011 for The Fighter, in which she played Mark Wahlberg's mother, even though she's less than 11 years older. She followed this up with a starring role alongside Denzel Washington in The Equalizer (2014). More recently, she starred in the ensemble financial drama The Big Short (2015), the sequel London Has Fallen, where she reprised her role as Ruth Macmillan, and the political biopic Snowden (2016) starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Her latest role is in the film Novitiate (2017).


Novitiate (2017)
The Ashram (2016)
Snowden (2016)
London Has Fallen (2016)
The Big Short (2015)
The Equalizer (2014)
The Judge (2014)
I Fought the Law (2013)
Over the Wall (2013)
Prisoners (2013)
Lee Daniels' The Butler (2013)
The Angriest Man in Brooklyn (2013)
Bottled Up (2013)
Oblivion (2013)
Olympus Has Fallen (2013)
Dwegons (2013)
A Single Shot (2013)
The Necessary Death of Charlie Countryman (2013)
Flight (2012)
Francine (2012)
Why Stop Now (2012)
Brooklyn Brothers Beat the best (2011)
Seven Days in Utopia (2011)
Red State (2011)
Lost Revolution (2011)
The Fighter (2010)
Queen of the Lot (2010)
Conviction (2010)
The Space Between (2010)
The Dry Land (2010)
Welcome to the Rileys (2010)
Greta (2009)
Everybody’s Fine (2009)
Dear Lemon Lima (2009)
Veronika Decides to Die (2009)
Don McKay (2009)
True Adolescents (2009)
Stephanie’s Image (2009)
The Alphabet Killer (2008)
Righteous Kill (2008)
Ball Don’t Lie (2008)
Santa Mesa (2008)
Lullaby (2008)
Frozen River (2008)
One Night (2007)
Mr. Woodcock (2007)
I Believe in America (2007)
Racing Daylight (2007)
The Cake Eaters (2007)
Black Irish (2007)
The House is Burning (2006)
Hollywood Dreams (2006)
The Limbo Room (2006)
Stephanie Daley (2006)
Confess (2005)
American Gun (2005)
The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada (2005)
Runaway (2005)
Mide and Seek (2005)
From Other Worlds (2004)
21 Grams (2003)
Fear of Fiction (2000)
Code of Ethics (1999)
The 25 Hour Woman (1999)
Under the Bridge (1997)
Last Summer in the Hamptons (1995)
The Ballad of Little Jo (1993)
Venice/Venice (1992)
Immaculate Conception (1992)
A Time of Destiny (1988)
Deadtime Stories (1986)
Steetwalkin’ (1985)
Always (1985)
Change Location