Matthew Goode Biography

Matthew Goode photo

Born: April 03, 1976

Hailing from Exetor, Devon, England, Matthew Goode studied drama and theater arts at Birmingham University, then studied classical theater at London's Webber Douglas Academy of Performing Arts. He began his acting career on stage in productions such as Shakespeare's The Tempest and Lorca's Blood Wedding. His television debut was as Casper in the ABC-TV movie Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister (2002), a retelling of the Cinderella story from the viewpoint of one of the stepsisters. Next, he had to learn his lines in Spanish for the feature film South of Granada (2003), which made its debut at the Cannes Film Festival and was released theatrically in Spain.

Matthew landed a starring role in his first big budget Hollywood release, Chasing Liberty(2004). In it, he played Ben Calder, Mandy Moore's love interest. He went on to appear in Woody Allen's Match Point (2006) and played the coveted role of Adrian Veidt/Ozymandias in the blockbuster Watchmen (2009). He followed this up with the drama Belle (2014), The Imitation Game (2014) and in Self/less (2015).

He then appeared in the war drama Allied (2016) alongside Brad Pitt and Marion Cotillard, the crime film The Hatton Garden Job (2016) opposite Joely Richardson, and the drama The Sense of an Ending (2017) with Jim Broadbent.

In 2014, Matthew joined the cast of the popular ITV series Downton Abbey, in the role of race car driver Henry Talbot. He stayed with the series for two seasons, until it ended in 2015, but he returned for the big screen sequel, titled simply Downton Abbey (2019).

His character was not in the second big screen Downton Abbey movie, but instead Matthew appeared in movies such as Silent Night (2021), The King's Man (2021), Medieval (2022), and the recent box office hit Abigail (2024).


Abigail (2024)
Freud's Last Session (2023)
Medieval (2022)
The House (2022)
The King's Man (2021)
The Colour Room (2021)
Silent Night (2021)
The Duke (2020)
Four Kids and It (2020)
Downton Abbey (2019)
Official Secrets (2019)
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (2018)
Birthmarked (2018)
the Hatton Garden Job (2017)
The Sense of an Ending (2017)
The Hatton Garden Job (2016)
Allied (2016)
Self/less (2015)
The Imitation Game
Belle (2014)
Stoker (2013)
Birdsong (2012)
Burning Man (2011)
Cemetery Junction (2010)
Leap Year (2010)
A Single Man (2009)
Watchmen (2009)
Brideshead Revisited (2008)
The Lookout (2007)
Copying Beethoven (2006)
Match Point (2006)
Imagine Me & You (2005)
Chasing Liberty (2004)
South of Granada (2003)

  Change Location