Maia Morgenstern Biography

Maia Morgenstern photo

Born: May 01, 1962


Date of Birth: May 1, 1962

Born in Bucharest, Romania, Maia Morgenstern is a well-known theater and film actress in her homeland. She studied at the Film and Theatre Academy in Bucharest and went on to become a member of the repertory companies of three prominent Romanian theater organizations — the Piatra Neamt National Theatre (1985 – 1988), the State Jewish Theatre (1988 – 1990) and the National Theatre (1990 – present).

Since making her film debut in 1983 in Prea cald pentru luna mai she has appeared in dozens of Romanian feature films as well as several international productions, including the English-language Nostradamus (1994), starring F. Murray Abraham and Tchéky Karyo; the Hungarian-language Siódmy pokój (1995) and the English/Greek language Ulysses’ Gaze (1995), in which she co-starred with Harvey Keitel. More recently, she played Nonna in the French language feature Marie, Nonna, la vierge et moi (2000). Morgenstern also took on a role in the USA Network TV movie Dark Prince: The True Story of Dracula (2000). She has received two major awards for her work on the stage: Stars of Tomorrow Award 1992 and the 1993 Felix Prize as Best Actress. Also in 1993, she won a European Film Award for Best Actress in Balanta (1992).

In Mel Gibson’s The Passion of the Christ (2004), Morgenstern plays Mary, the mother of Jesus. In the film, the actors speak Aramaic, Latin and Hebrew. Next up is the feature film Love is a Survivor (2005), a story of three Jewish brothers who try to survive during WWII.


Love Is a Survivor (2005)
The Passion of the Christ (2004)
A rózsa énekei (2003)
Bolondok éneke (2003)
Patul lui Procust (2001)
Marie, Nonna, la vierge et moi (2000)
Fata în fata (1999)
Triunghiul mortii (1999)
Kínai védelem (1999)
Omul zilei (1997)
Witman fiúk (1997)
Ulysses' Gaze (1997)
Siódmy pokój (1995)
Nostradamus (1994)
Casa din vis (1993)
Cel mai iubit dintre pamînteni (1993)
Trahir (1993)
Ramînerea (1992)
Balanta (1992)
Baiatul cu o singura bretea (1991)
Cei care platesc cu viata (1991)
Pasaj (1990)
Marea sfidare (1989)
Maria si marea (1988)
Anotimpul iubirii (1986)
Dreptate în lanturi (1983)
Prea cald pentru luna mai (1983)

Change Location