Kieran Culkin Biography

Kieran Culkin photo

Born: September 30, 1982


Date of Birth: September 30, 1982

This native of the Big Apple is the son of former child actor Christopher Culkin. Growing up with his six siblings (including his famous brother, Macaulay), Culkin was encouraged to enter the acting profession by his father who firmly demanded his kids not be discriminated against when it came to their age and paycheques. His aggressive negotiating led to his third child, Macaulay, becoming the richest child actor in history.

With Macaulay a household name, it wouldn't be long for Kieran and his other siblings rose to the occasion. Kieran made his debut alongside big brother Mac in Home Alone (1990). He went on to do many films on his own, including starring roles in the Father of the Bride (1991 and 1995) films playing Steve Martin's young son.

By 1998, Kieran had his first opportunity to shine as he took the lead in the feature film The Mighty3 playing Kevin Dillon, an intelligent teen whose physical development is impaired. The part earned him a Young Artist Award nomination for Best Young Actor. Since this success, he took a step back playing supporting roles in major films like Music of the Heart and The Cider House Rules (both 1999), as well as testing the waters of the small screen industry working on a couple of series such as Go Fish and the mini-series, The Magical Legend of the Leprechauns.

He jumped back into the limelight in 2002 with lead roles in The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys and Igby Goes Down. He then took time off to do stage work in New York and London, before returning in the film Lymelife (2009), with younger brother Rory. That same year Kieran also starred in Paper Man (2009) and Margaret (2009).

In 2010 he went on to have a role in quirky action flick Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010) and most recently starred in the comedy Infinity Baby(2017).

Kieran lives in New York.


Infinity Baby (2017)
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010)
Paper Man (2009)
Margaret (2009)
Lymelife (2009)
Igby Goes Down (2002)
The Dangerous Lives of Altar Boys (2002)
The Cider House Rules (1999)
Music of the Heart (1999)
She's All That (1999)
The Mighty (1998)
Amanda (1996)
Father of the Bride Part II (1995)
It Runs in the Family (1994)
Nowhere to Run (1993)
Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992)
Father of the Bride (1991)
Only the Lonely (1991)
Home Alone (1990)
  Change Location