Kathleen Quinlan Biography

Kathleen Quinlan photo

Born: November 19, 1954


Date of Birth: November 19, 1954

"I like to think of myself as kind of a sculptor, only I sculpt people," says this native of Pasadena, California. Anyone who saw her sculpting techniques in bringing to life the character of Marilyn Lovell in Ron Howard's Apollo 13 knows that she's pretty good at what she does. That film won her nominations for Best Supporting Actress at both the Academy Awards and the Golden Globe Awards.

Her first breakthrough performance was in the film I Never Promised You a Rose Garden and the stage-trained actress has been working ever since, both in television and film. In 1999, she landed a regular starring role in the CBS drama Family Law, and had a provision written in her contract that states she is not required to work after 6 p.m., so that she can be home to spend time with her family. The series ended in 2002, and she has been able to concentrate on her movie career since then, landing lead roles in films such as Wes Craven's The Hills Have Eyes (2006). More recently, she starred in the thriller Horns (2014). She has been married to actor Bruce Abbott since April 1994, and they have two sons.


Horns (2014)
The Dissection of Thanksgiving (2008)
Made of Honor (2008)
Breach (2007)
The Hills Have Eyes (2006)
El Padrino (2004)
The Battle of Shaker Heights (2003)
My Giant (1998)
Breakdown (1997)
Zeus and Roxanne (1996)
Apollo 13 (1995)
Perfect Alibi (1995)
Trial by Jury (1994)
The Doors (1991)
Clara's Heart (1988)
Sunset (1988)
Wild Thing (1987)
Man Outside (1986)
Warning Sign (1985)
Independence Day (1983)
Twilight Zone - The Movie (1983)
Hanky Panky (1982)
Les Seducteurs/Sunday Lovers (1980)
The Promise (1979)
The Runner Stumbles (1979)
Nightmare in Blood (1978)
Airport '77 (1977)
I Never Promised You a Rose Garden (1977)
Lifeguard (1976)
American Graffiti (1973)
One Is a Lonely Number (1972)
The Last Winter (1962)

  Change Location