Fionnula Flanagan Biography

Fionnula Flanagan photo

Born: December 10, 1941


Date of Birth: December 10, 1941

This lass from Dublin, Ireland completed her education in Switzerland and England and took up the art of acting at Dublin's prestigious Abbey Theatre. After working for a number of years on stage, for such production companies as Bristol's Old Vic Company and London's Royal Court. In 1968, she moved to the United States where she continued her stage career on the New York stage and Broadway.

In 1967 she made Ulysses, and years later, she starred in James Joyce's Women (1985), where she played six women from the life and works of Joyce. Before taking on the film which earned her a number of awards for her performance, she had already played the parts in a stage version of the story that she had written and produced.

On the small screen she won an Emmy for her role in the miniseries Rich Man, Poor Man and received an Emmy nomination as Best Actress for the series How the West Was Won. She has also been seen in such telefilms as For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story and A Secret Affair, as well as the series To Have and To Hold. More recently, she played the recurring role of Eloise Hawking on the hit series Lost.

She played a supporting role as the dutiful servant in the sleeper hit, The Others (2001) opposite Nicole Kidman, starred alongside Sandra Bullock in Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (2002) and played Evelyn Mercer in Four Brothers (2005) with Mark Wahlberg.

Flanagan has been married to psychiatrist and addiction medicine specialist Garrett O'Connor since 1972 and lives with him in Los Angeles.


Life's a Breeze (2014)
Angels Sing (2013)
The Guard (2011) Coming & Going (2011)
Kill the Irishman (2011)
Disney's A Christmas Carol (2009)
The Invention of Lying (2009)
Yes Man (2008)
Slipstream (2007)
The Payback (2006)
Sexual Life (2005)
TransAmerica (2005)
Four Brothers (2005)
Man About Dog (2004)
Blessed (2004)
One of the Oldest Con Games (2004)
Tears of the Sun (2003)
Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (2002)
The Others (2001)
With or Without You (1999)
Commedia (1999)
Paperlily (1998)
Waking Ned Devine (1998)
Some Mother's Son (1996)
Money for Nothing (1993)
Mad at the Moon (1992)
P.K. and the Kid (1987)
A State of Emergency (1986)
Youngblood (1986)
James Joyce's Women (1985)
Voyager From the Unknown (1982)
Mr. Patman (1980)
In the Region of Ice (1976)
Sinful Davey (1969)
Ulysses (1967)
Change Location