Brad Johnson Biography

Brad Johnson photo

Born: January 01, 1959


Date of Birth: 1959

Johnson, born on a ranch in Arizona, grew up a cowboy and outdoorsman whose head was filled with the many tales his father told. He joined the rodeo circuit while attending college on a rodeo scholarship.

In 1984, Johnson was approached after a rodeo by a casting director who was looking for cowboys to become extras in a Busch beer commercial. When the lead actor wasn't able to deliver, Johnson was promoted to a speaking part. He was then cast as a Marlboro Man.

These two spots resulted in a quick selection for a number of Calvin Klein print ads, some other noteworthy commercials and relocation to Los Angeles.

Within just three months of his arrival, and after the start of acting lessons, he was cast in the starring role in Nam Angels. That same year director Steven Spielberg offered him a coveted role in Always.

Following Flight of the Intruder, Johnson began working primarily in television.

His roles include the title character in the series, Ned Blessing: The True Story of My Life, which earned him a 1994 induction into the National Cowboy Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City.

The telefilm, Cries Unheard, which paired him with Jaclyn Smith, also garnered very high ratings. He has also guest-starred on a number of series including , Veronica's Closet, The Outer Limits, and Melrose Place, in the recurring role of Dr. Dominick O'Malley.

He has returned to the big screen periodically in films like Double Trouble (1992), Dominion (1995) and Left Behind (2001).

Unfortunately, though his career in television and film has been ever increasing, Johnson hasn't been able to reach A-list status, and continues to look for the role that will get him into the big time.

Chosen by People magazine as one of the 50 Most Beautiful People in the world in 1990, Johnson has been married since 1987, and currently lives on the outskirts of Los Angeles with his wife and children.


Blindside (2001)
Left Behind (2001)
Across the Line (2000)
Dominion (1995)
Lone Justice 2 (1995)
Stockholm Marathon (1994)
Philadelphia Experiment II (1993)
Double Trouble (1992)
Flight of the Intruder (1990)
Always (1989)
Nam Angels (1989)

Change Location